Singapore Police Commissioner elected new President of INTERPOL

١٠ أكتوبر، ٢٠٠٨

ST PETERSBURG, Russia – Singapore police force Commissioner KHOO Boon Hui has been elected the new President of INTERPOL by delegates at the 77th General Assembly.
As President of the Organization, Mr Khoo’s role during his four-year term will include chairing meetings of the Executive Committee which supervises the implementation of decisions taken at the General Assembly.
In taking up his post as INTERPOL President, Commissioner Khoo said that he was ‘truly honoured to be entrusted with the role’.
'INTERPOL plays a critical role in international police co-operation,' said Mr Khoo. 'As the new President, I will help the Organization form strategic alliances and build on its existing programmes which will allow INTERPOL to better meet the demands of international policing.'
Secretary General Ronald K. Noble said that Mr Khoo’s election came at a pivotal time for the Organization.
'INTERPOL has now launched its Global Security Initiative which will provide the blueprint for international law enforcement in the 21st century,' said Mr Noble. 'I am sure that under the Presidency of Mr Khoo, the GSI and our other key initiatives will help all our 187 member countries to fully meet the policing challenges they face.
'I am looking forward to working closely with him in ensuring that INTERPOL remains at the forefront of international law enforcement.'
Mr Mostapha Mouzouni was elected as Vice-President for the Africa region. A former delegate for Africa, Mr Mouzouni will serve a three-year term, joining Vice-President for the Americas, Arturo Herrera Verdugo and Vice-President for Europe, Juergen Stock.
Also elected to the Executive Committee were the Director of CID in Angola, Eduardo Fernandes Cerqueira, and the Head of INTERPOL’s National Central Bureau in Cairo Magdy Elshafey as delegates for Africa. Maria del Pilar Hurtado Afanador, Director of Colombia’s Departamento Administrativo de Seguridad (DAS) was elected delegate for the Americas. Petter Dyhre, Assistant Chief of Police for Norway, and 1st degree Chief Superintendent Süleyman Isildar from Turkey both elected as delegates for Europe.