All news
11 October 2017

Developing partnerships against cybercrime in Africa focus of INTERPOL meeting

PORT LOUIS, Mauritius – An INTERPOL working group meeting for heads of cybercrime units in Africa aims to boost cooperation between law enforcement and the private sector.

Bringing together cyber experts from 10 countries, the three-day (11 – 13 October) meeting will review the challenges posed by cybercrime in the region and begin to develop coordinated strategies to combat them.

Topics to be discussed during the meeting include INTERPOL’s cybercrime strategy, digital forensics, investigative support, cyber intelligence sharing, developing strong legislation and building capacity to combat cybercrime in Africa.

Private sector partners including Microsoft, the African Network Information Centre, Trend Micro, the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) and Cellebrite will share their expertise with the participants.

The meeting was opened by the Commissioner of Police of Mauritius, Karl Mario Nobin, and funding was provided by the Council of Europe in the framework of the ongoing partnership under the Global Action on Cybercrime Extended (GLACY+) project.

“The fight against this global threat cannot be a standalone endeavour. It requires common and concerted efforts and cooperation among law enforcement organizations both regional and worldwide.

“As such, there is a compelling need for countries to embrace and promote consistent cybercrime and cybersecurity policies and strategies; strengthen law enforcement capacities to investigate cybercrime; and develop and engage in effective police-to-police cooperation,” said Commissioner Nobin.

The need for collaboration between police and the private sector was highlighted by a recent INTERPOL and Trend Micro research paper on cybercrime activity across West Africa, which revealed a significant growth in cybercriminals in the region using social engineering frauds to target businesses and individuals.

Participating countries are Burkina Faso, Ghana, Kenya, Mauritius, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa Swaziland, Uganda and Zimbabwe.