Counter Nuclear Smuggling Training

3-5 December 2013, Antalya, Turkey

ANTALYA, Turkey – Promoting national and regional interagency cooperation was the focus of the INTERPOL Counter Nuclear Smuggling conference which brought together some 75 officials from 13 countries across the Caucasus and Eastern Europe.

The development and deployment of Counter Nuclear Smuggling Teams in order to mitigate the illicit trafficking of nuclear and other radiological materials was also a key issue for the three-day event which involved representatives from law enforcement, customs, border forces, atomic regulatory authorities, public health and  ministries of interior and foreign affairs.

Addressing the conference, Deputy Director General of the Turkish National Police, Mr Zeki Catalkaya, said nuclear terrorism is one of the most important threats against cities and their security is of the greatest importance.

“No single country can be successful in combating the threat alone, it takes regional and international collaboration. There are weapons of mass destruction in our region, for us it is a reality and one that we must be prepared for,” said Mr Catalkaya.

“We believe that we can gain and broaden our expertise by working together with international organizations like INTERPOL and the United Nations and this conference is a good opportunity to extend and share our knowledge,” added Mr Catalkaya.

Counter nuclear smuggling is a key component of the 2012 Nuclear Security Summit’s  Seoul Communiqué, which encourages countries to share via INTERPOL information on individuals involved in trafficking nuclear and other radioactive materials. This activity is coordinated through INTERPOL’s Operation Fail Safe, an initiative that underpins the Organization’s counter nuclear smuggling strategy.

Speakers from: European Commission, INTERPOL, International Atomic Energy Agency, Lithuania Nuclear Security Centre of Excellence, Netherlands Forensic Institute;, University of Salzburg, United Nations Office of Disarmament Affairs, USA Department of Energy, USA Department of State, USA Federal Bureau of Investigation.

Countries represented: Albania, Armenia, Bulgaria, Georgia, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Romania, Tajikistan, Turkey, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.