Cayman Islands (UK)

  • United Kingdom Sub-Bureau
Back to Americas

Cayman Islands (UK)

INTERPOL Manchester’s Sub-Bureau for the Cayman Islands

The United Kingdom (UK) has 14 Overseas Territories which it has the duty to keep secure and under good governance. INTERPOL Manchester has an important role to play in helping the UK Government protect its Territories from the threats of international terrorism and organized crime.

In order to do this, the United Kingdom operates INTERPOL Sub-Bureaus in seven of its 14 Territories, each with delegated regional authority:

  • Anguilla
  • Bermuda
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Montserrat
  • Turks & Caicos.

A constitutional relationship

Each UK Territory has its own constitution, government and local laws. Territory constitutions set out the powers and responsibilities of the institutions of government, which include the appointment of a Governor, an elected legislature and ministers.

Governors are appointed by the British Monarch and have responsibility for external affairs, defence and internal security, including the oversight, through the Commissioner of Police, of the national police force. 

Tackling serious crime in the Caribbean

Ensuring high levels of security in the Territories requires access to strong law enforcement tools, services and support. The UK and Territory governments work together and with INTERPOL to help prevent crime and ensure people feel safe in their homes and communities.

INTERPOL Manchester provides advice and specialist support to the Caribbean Territories to help them tackle international terrorism and organized crime, working with local law enforcement partners and INTERPOL’s global police membership. 

INTERPOL Manchester Sub-Bureaus

The Sub-Bureaus are the essential link between UK Territory police forces and INTERPOL's international law enforcement community. Each Sub-Bureau is part of the country’s national police force and serves as the contact point for all INTERPOL investigations relating to that country or requiring international outreach from that country.

They are the designated contact point for the General Secretariat, Regional Bureaus and INTERPOL member countries requiring assistance from British Overseas Territory police forces for investigations and the location and apprehension of fugitives.

Our site uses cookies to ensure technical functionality, gather statistics and enable sharing on social media platforms.

Tell me more